Cornish Cliff Walking: Perranuthnoe to Prussia Cove

I booked a week off work but didn’t feel the need to leave the county; I simply wanted some more time to explore Cornwall.

My boyfriend and I booked two nights’ camping at The Little Wild Campsite near Praa Sands. The main reason for picking this site was that they allow fires, which came in very handy during the chilly evenings. But I’m going to write another blog post about the campsite later as I wanted to share this beautiful cliff walk first.

Image of Perranuthnoe, Cornwall
Perranuthnoe

The forecast for Friday was for heavy rain so we made the most of Thursday by getting up quite early and making a cup of tea with our new kettle and camping stove, and munched our way through some pan au chocolats. We drove from the campsite over to Perranuthnoe where we parked near the beach.

We giggled at a couple trying and failing to put up a pop up tent on the beach in the gusts of wind and watched swimmers and body boarders brave the sea. After taking a few pictures and having a stroll on the sand, we headed up to the coastal path.

The walk started off on a lovely path but we quickly realised that some of this coast path has worn away and collapsed in stormy weather, so we had to take a detour across the pebble beach and clamber over rocks. Once I stopped complaining about my dodgy knee I managed to make it across this treacherous part of the walk and back onto the main path – I didn’t feel like much of an adventurer there for a few moments!

Once back on the path, I started getting that amazing feeling you get from fresh air – healthy, happy and care free. The sun stayed out for us and we enjoyed amazing views of the ocean and rugged cliffs, with St Michael’s Mount in the distance.

Image of Perranuthnoe, Cornwall
Leaving Perranuthnoe with St Michael’s Mount in the distance!

I foolishly forgot to take my walking boots so my trainers did rub my little toes a bit. The walk from Perranuthnoe to Prussia Cove was two miles, and we were considering walking on to Praa Sands, but as we had been there for dinner the night before and we still had to walk another two miles back, we decided to stop at Prussia Cove for a bit instead of marching on.

Prussia Cove is a small but beautiful little cove and was apparently one of the main areas used for smuggling. It looked absolutely divine from our clifftop view above. There were a few people paddling and swimming in the glistening water and families sun bathing and having picnics in sheltered spots. But best of all, it wasn’t too packed and felt like one of Cornwall’s undiscovered spots.

Image of Prussia Cove, Cornwall
Prussia Cove

I paddled in the sea and got my shorts wet, wishing I had brought my bikini with me! It was such a gorgeous spot, we could have sat there for ages listening to the gentle roar of the waves.

Image of Prussia Cove, Cornwall
Paddling at Prussia Cove!

The walk back to Perranuthnoe seemed quicker than the first half of the journey, probably because we were taking less photographs and just missioning on. Hilariously (but not so much at the time) I managed to fall over twice, landing on my bum both times! Of course, Chris found it extremely funny and so did I once I had got over my initial shock! I managed to clamber over the rocks again where the coast path has collapsed and finished the walk with a sprint cross the beach and another paddle in the sea.

We returned to the van feeling a bit windswept and me with sore toes and a sore bum! But we had loved the fresh sea air, the beautiful views and had worked up an appetite for our evening BBQ! A lovely walk which I would recommend to anyone staying in the Helston and Penzance area.

Cliff Walk - Perranuthnoe to Prussia Cove
Cliff Walk – Perranuthnoe to Prussia Cove
Leave a Reply

