5 Things to do in Falmouth

A few weeks ago I went camping in Falmouth with two of my friends who had come down from Bristol. Falmouth has always been one of my favourite places in Cornwall and it’s also one of theirs. Based on our mini holiday, here are 5 cool things to do in Falmouth.

1. Stay at a campsite that’s walking distance from the town

My friends and I stayed at Menehay Farm campsite, which is just a short walk from town or a cheap taxi ride (it only cost us £5). I thought this was ideal because when we were at the campsite having a few drinks by our tents, it felt like we were right in the midst of the Cornish countryside (the campsite was quite high up and there were gorgeous views of the rolling hills), yet within about 20 minutes we could be right in the centre of town where there’s a plethora of amazing pubs, bars, restaurants and shops. Thank goodness for Falmouth University making this place so awesome!

Image of Menehay Farm, Falmouth
Camping!

2.Explore Falmouth’s beautiful beaches

Gyllyngvase, Swanpool and Maenporth are the main beaches in Falmouth. When I was there for the Sea Shanty festival a few weeks beforehand, the weather was stunning and I enjoyed a coffee on Gylly beach before heading back into the festival. Gyllyndune gardens are right behind the beach which has so many different types of tropical plants that you feel like you are in another country when you wander through. On this camping weekend, my friends and I spent a day at Maenporth beach. We did lots of paddling and exploring, spotting mini crabs in the sand and watching sea gulls dive for sand worms. We also enjoyed beers on the beach whilst soaking up the sun. On the previous day, we had sporadic rain showers so we spent a few hours wandering around the town; you are truly spoilt for choice with shops in Falmouth and it’s a great place for clothes shopping, gift shopping or just having a mooch about.

Image of Maenporth Beach, Falmouth
Jump in time!
Image of Maenporth Beach, Falmouth
Could be on a tropical island!

3.Eat dinner at the Thai Orchid

You are spoilt for choice with dining in Falmouth: there are popular chains like The Stable and ZiZi, traditional pub grub, wonderful restaurants offering food from different cultures including Cribbs Caribbean and Amanzi African restaurant, and of course countless seafood restaurants. We chose the Thai Orchid. This restaurant is beautifully decorated and has amazing food, with plenty of choice for vegans (my two friends are vegan). Because of this fact, I devoured all of the prawn crackers myself whilst we were waiting for our food – delicious. I went vegan for the night and we shared some delicious dishes between us, accompanied by noodles and coconut rice; all cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. I think I will have to go back there and try some meat and fish dishes!

4.Go for an evening drink at Gylly Beach Café

I mentioned Gyllyngvase beach earlier and it’s definitely one of the top spots in Cornwall. My friends and I shared a nice chilled bottle of wine (or two) on one of the benches outside Gylly café, warmed by the outside heaters and surrounded by gorgeous views of the beach and the turquoise sea. There is nothing like enjoying a cold drink with a sea view and we really are spoilt for choice with places like this in Cornwall. I think we all felt like we could sit there all night but we wanted to experience the town as well, so we strolled back in and visited the Hand Beer Bar, which is open until 2am.

Image of Gyllyngvase Beach, Falmouth
Tropical plants overlooking Gylly beach!
Image of Gyllyngvase Beach, Falmouth
The stunning Gyllyngvase beach!

5.Check out one of the amazing music events

I mentioned the Sea Shanty festival earlier which is a fantastic event that raises money for the RNLI.  There are lots of other festivals taking place in Falmouth; unfortunately I’ve missed a few this year already but I’m hoping to go to Falmouth Week in August and the Reggae Festival in the Autumn. Aside from the outdoor events, Falmouth’s Princess Pavilion also has a range of music, comedy and theatre events. I went to see Electric Swing Circus there a while ago and it was absolutely brilliant. Check out their website for this year’s line-up.

Falmouth is one of the most stunning places in Cornwall and has a multitude of festivals and events, as well as tons of amazing bars, restaurants and pubs. Could I live there? I think I could be happy there but I don’t know if I could tear myself so far away from the north coast! luckily, Falmouth is only a 30 minute drive from my house near Perranporth.

Image of Maenporth Beach
Enjoying a beer on Maenporth beach!
1 Comment

Leave a Reply

