Capturing Summer Moments at Hayle Towans

I can’t believe it’s nearly the end of July already – I just want the summer to last forever! Last weekend brought a mixture of weather: Saturday had rain showers on and off all day so we used it as an excuse to have a cosy afternoon and evening featuring Mexican food, rum and Game of Thrones.

However, on Sunday we woke up to sunshine and, after a bit of a lazy morning, decided to head out for a beach stroll at Hayle Towans.

Hayle isn’t somewhere I went to during my Cornish childhood and is one of the special places I have discovered recently. But with views like this, who wouldn’t want to spend a summer’s afternoon there?

Image of Hayle Towans, Cornwall
Hayle Towans

I can often be found furiously snapping away on my camera when walking on a Cornish beach, but I can never capture the moment perfectly. You really need to be there and hear the sound of the waves, feel the warm breeze and sun on your skin and the soft sand between your toes.

We had a lovely walk across the Towans, gazing at Godrevy lighthouse in the distance and watching people paddling in the shallows, kicking footballs across the beach, flying kites on the sand and paddle boarding in the sea. The beach is a great place to get active and enjoy the outdoors; I was feeling a bit groggy on Sunday morning but as soon as the fresh air hit my face, my eyes felt instantly refreshed.

After walking across the long stretch of sand, we headed up the hill to the Bluff pub, which overlooks the spectacular views of Hayle Towans. We enjoyed pints of beer in the sunshine and ordered some food (I highly recommend the burgers).

It’s such a wonderful setting that we stayed there for a couple of hours, enjoying the food and drinks in the sunshine and the amazing views. I have a feeling this will become one of my favourite spots in Cornwall.

Image of Hayle Towans, Cornwall
View from The Bluff, Hayle Towans
Leave a Reply

