Soothing the Soul on Falmouth Pier

On Monday, my adventures took me to beautiful Falmouth, which on that exact same day had won the Sunday Times vote of the best place to live in the UK. It’s easy to see why. Falmouth is such a vibrant hub of Cornwall, full of art students, independent shops and cafés and surrounded by stunning beaches.

I had a meeting in the afternoon but decided to get the train down early to make the most of being in Falmouth; and to have a day out to take my mind off things that have been happening in my life.

I spent the journey down reading and watching the rain drops stream sideways down the window of the train. When I got off the train in Penmere, the rain was torrential and not even a raincoat and an umbrella could keep me dry! I walked towards Killigrew Street, trying to avoid being splashed by puddles from passing cars.

When I got to Market Street, I took shelter in a coffee shop for an hour or so, until the rain eased. I spent the time preparing for my meeting and enjoying a toasted sandwich and a mocha.

Considering I’ve just had my heart broken, spending a day alone might seem like the worst thing to do. However, it was actually quite soothing being alone with my thoughts and also quite empowering; a reminder to myself that I am strong and I can cope alone.

When the heavy rain had passed over, I headed outside and walked towards the Falmouth Prince of Wales Pier. The pier was covered with rain water, which looked so effective alongside the sea water surrounding it.

pier1

There weren’t many other people around, probably due to the weather, so I took my time and slowly walked up and down, admiring the view from every angle. I gazed at boats in the distance and brightly coloured houses whose inhabitants could enjoy this spectacular view every day. I breathed it all in and breathed in the fresh, sea air as well.

Just as I was about to talk back to the main street, a girl approached me asking if she could take my photograph. Explaining that she was a Falmouth Uni student and just needed pictures of people for her project, I happily consented. She took a picture of me gazing into the distance, one of my Poldark book (which I had chosen as my favourite item in my bag) and one of my sparkly black brogues (just because she liked them).

pier2

It was nice to help her out with her uni project but also nice just to speak to someone who I didn’t know. We all seem to walk around in bubbles theses days and, although I often say hello to people as I walk by them in the countryside, it’s not often that I have a conversation with a stranger.

Perhaps this is something I will do more of soon as I plan to join a walking group called Kernow Boots as well as the gym and a yoga club and maybe a book club.

I am focused on where I want to be and what I want to be doing and I am determined to make it work. I can only hope that the next few weeks bring good news and great change; I know that I certainly deserve it.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

