Battling the Cornish Weather at Rame Head

It’s no secret that I had a tough week last week, particularly if you have read my last post.

Feeling low on energy due to lack of sleep and food, I headed out for a Sunday afternoon walk. I was determined to get a change of scenery and to have a sort of intervention with myself.

I didn’t plan a particularly long walk, I just wanted some fresh air to try to blow away all my negative emotions and to get out in the angry weather, which matched my feelings perfectly.

The view from Rame Head car park was hazy; but not with mist or rain, rather with the easterly wind.

ramehead1

As soon as I got out of the car, the chill of the wind hit me and I tied my hood tight around my head, wishing I had worn a scarf and gloves.

As I walked briskly towards Rame Head Chapel, the gusts of wind attempted to push me backwards and pulled on my face making my skin sting.

I pushed on, not letting my lack of energy deter me and marched towards the chapel ruins as if it was my only goal in life. Focusing on any sort of goal after the awful week I had had felt like a major achievement.

ramehead4

When I made it to the top, I swayed around in the wind for a bit, feeling like a strong gust could throw me into the sea at any moment.

Then I took refuge for a while inside the chapel ruins, telling myself that everything in my life was going to be ok; that I would get through this storm and that the angry weather would subside.

That evening I ate the first proper meal I had eaten in days and felt ready to tackle this week’s battles. I’m not going to pretend that I’m not still struggling with my emotions, but it’s amazing what a bit of Cornish weather and sea air can do.

ramehead6

1 Comment

  1. Well done you, on battling those low spirits and the grim March weather. I’m sorry life is so turbulent for you at the moment, Laura. It sounds like you are doing everything you can to take care of yourself. Hopefully this spell of grey weather will pass soon, and some sunny skies will go some way to helping to raise your spirits.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

