My Cornish Festival Bucket List

I am ridiculously excited about 2017 and plan to spend as much time on the beach as I possibly can, as well as attending some of the best festivals that Cornwall has to offer. Festival season kicks off in May, so I’ve got a few months to get saving for my tickets; last year I didn’t end up going to any and I am determined that this year is going to make up for it!

  1. Summer Masked Ball, Porthleven – 26th-28th May

I attended the Halloween Masked Ball at Flambards theme park in October 2015 and had the best time drinking cocktails, exploring and dancing to everything from house and techno to disco and cheese, amongst hundreds of other ballers all in spectacularly spooky costumes. This year I want to relive that night but swap the cold autumnal air for a three-day party on the sunny cliffs of Porthleven. This popular Cornish event takes place during the May bank holiday and promises to be ‘no ordinary weekend’. Check out the full details here.

2.  The Great Estate, Scorrier House – 2nd-4th June

My next choice is a new festival which takes place for the first time this June. A video on Facebook caught my eye, which presents the festival as weird and wonderful; featuring everything from burlesque and fire-breathing, to sea shanties to Cornish wrestling (whatever that might be!) The only music acts that have been released so far are the Craig Charles Funk & Soul Band and Electric Swing Circus; these acts are both sure to get the crowds dancing and I am really intrigued to find out what other names will be released. I think if you’re looking for a unique festival to go to this summer then The Great Estate could be the one for you.

 

3. Falmouth Sea Shanty Festival – 16th-18th June

As much as I’m keen for a sunshine rave, I’m also eager to experience a traditional Cornish festival. Everyone who knows me knows that I bang on about how amazing Cornwall is and how proud I am to be Cornish far too much. And there’s nothing I like better than a traditional Cornish sing song to celebrate my Cornish roots! Hence why I would love to be at the Sea Shanty Festival this year, jigging along to some brilliant folk music – perhaps dressed as a pirate?! Falmouth is such a stunning location for a festival and one of my favourite places in Cornwall, so bring on the Celtic music and shanties by the sea! I’ll be the one dancing around with a pint of Skinner’s ale!

4. Tropical Pressure Festival, Porthtowan – 14th-16th July

Roots and culture in Cornwall?! My dreams have literally come true. This colourful festival celebrates the rich cultures of the Caribbean, Africa and Latin America. If dancing to reggae music or bopping to an African drum beat appeals to you then head over to Porthtowan to experience some tropical vibes by the sea; the sounds and smells will take you straight to warmer climes. Practically, you might need some cosy layers for the evenings, but hopefully the Cornish sun will shine down on us all weekend! Take a look at pictures and videos from previous years here. 

trop

5. Port Eliot Festival, St Germans – 27th-30th July

I definitely have to go to Port Eliot this year because it is just around the corner from where I live in St Germans! I am planning to move further west before that but my mum will still be living here. Having said that, I think I will still go for the full festival camping experience – there’s just no other way to do it! This quirky festival mixes music, poetry and comedy together in the beautiful grounds of Port Eliot House, next to the estuary which many festival-goers have a paddle or a dip in. This festival attracts people from far and wide and still has a hippie feel to it, which is reminiscent of the Elephant Fayre which used to take place in the same spot. The full line-up will be released here soon.

porteliot

6. Little Orchard Cider & Music Festival, Penhallow – 8th-10th September

If you’re as crazy about cider (or cyder as we like to spell it in Kernow) as I am, you will love this little festival on a farm. Watch some pig racing, chill out on a hay bale, enjoy some tunes and taste some Healey’s Cyder! This year’s acts include the amazing Kernow King as well as The Wurzels (I am a Cider Drinker, I drinks it all of the day, I am a Cider Drinker, it soothes all me troubles away); what more could you ask for? A family festival and a charming Cornish party that promises to be lots of fun. Proper job. Find out more details here.

7. Looe Music Festival – 29th September-1st October

Finally, to keep the summer vibes going for as long as possible, we have the popular Looe Music Festival. Revellers will be dancing on the beach, come rain or shine, to some of the best live music that we will see in Cornwall all year. There are a few campsites nearby and there will be shuttle busses running between them and Looe town during the weekend. I don’t want to wish the year away at all but this will definitely be an awesome way to see the summer out by the sea! Keep an eye out for line-up news here.

looemusic

Leave a Reply

