My Birthday Weekend at Tremerth Cottage

It feels a little bit odd writing this now because the lovely birthday weekend I am about to describe  was with my boyfriend, but we’ve since broken up. It’s been once of those strange weeks where I’ve had to make tough decisions and, consequently, my relationship has come to an end and so has one of my jobs.

I had to leave my role within the charity as the content was too emotional, so I am now focusing on my proofreading role and looking for different opportunities. I am no longer applying for roles in Plymouth and am hoping to move back to the Truro area.

Despite our relationship not being right for the future, I did have a lovely birthday weekend away with Rémi and I am really grateful that he helped make it a special weekend for me.

We stayed in a beautiful cottage called Tremerth, on Castallack Farm. This rural retreat was nestled in between Lamorna and Mousehole and it had far-reaching countryside views. I had wanted to return to this part of Cornwall as I hadn’t been there since I was very young so it was wonderful to return to some of my favourite haunts, as well as exploring some places I had never been to before.

The cottage itself was equipped with everything you could wish for and it was the perfect base for a countryside escape. We lit the log fire on both nights and were able to enjoy its toasty warmth with a movie in the spacious living room.

During our stay, we managed to cover a large part of the stunning South West Cornwall coast and we were blessed with the most gorgeous weather; I think it’s the only sunny weekend I remember having during my birthday weekend, so we were extremely lucky.

On the first day, we walked from the cottage down a bridleway and across fields to Lamorna Cove, before following the circular route back across a river and up the (hilly) countryside lane. We were hoping to stop for a drink in the Lamorna Wink pub, but unfortunately it was shut in the afternoon. Nevertheless, we enjoyed a bracing stroll at Lamorna Cove and began taking some of the many pretty photographs we would take that weekend.

lamorna3

The next day, our travels took us to Porthcurno, the Minack, Porthgwarra and even as far as Land’s End. Of course, at this time of year, beaches like Porthcurno are pretty much deserted and it feels incredible to stand and listen to the choppy ocean and admire the rugged cliffs and rocks.

lamorna6

In the evening, we stopped off in Mousehole, where this year’s famous Christmas lights had started to be assembled, before heading to the Newlyn Meadery for my birthday dinner. I chose this medieval style restaurant because I used to love it as a child and also really wanted to drink some mead with my dinner!

lamorna10

On Sunday we decided to make the most of the weather before heading home, so we took a drive to Cape Cornwall and Botallack to enjoy some breathtaking Poldark scenery before stopping for some lunch in Penzance before we headed east.

I hope I can return to this part of Cornwall during the summer and I would definitely recommend Castallack Farm as a base; the owners were very helpful and friendly and the cottage was decorated beautifully with everything you could need for a self-catering holiday.

Leave a Reply

