Exploring Dyrham Park in South Glos

Please excuse me for being MIA in recent weeks. I have been neglectful of my blog again but I do have some exciting news to report! After a few months of searching, I now have two exciting jobs!

I have started working as a freelance proofreader for a company producing educational resources and next week I will start working as a Marketing & Communications Officer for an amazing charity in Plymouth. I really can’t wait to get stuck into both roles and to feel like I am really making a difference. Plus, of course, I am  looking forward to actually having a bank balance again!

I can’t believe it’s November already; this year has gone even quicker than usual. November is my birthday month which is very exciting as I usually try to spread my celebrations out over several weeks! The weather has suddenly got colder during the last week and it’s officially onesie season. Luckily, I packed my hat, gloves and scarf last weekend when I headed to Bristol to see friends and family as it was very chilly!

Whilst staying with my sister, brother-in-law and nephew in North Bristol, I went on a family outing to Dyrham Park in South Gloucestershire. The perfect spot to admire the colours of autumn whilst they’re still here, Dyrham Park is a 17th Century house with beautiful gardens, breathtaking countryside and stunning views. It is also famous for having deer grazing in its extensive grounds.

14718162_938783616254907_7069399831436853248_n

14727493_354504341567370_2836157872679682048_n

As my sister is 8 months pregnant and we had her little one in the push-chair, we didn’t go on a really long walk. Instead, we took one of the central pathways from the car park down to the house, pausing to spot stags and doe grazing near the path and to take in the explosion of autumnal colours of the leaves on and below the majestic trees. My nephew had a lot of fun running through and kicking the gigantic leaves!

When we reached the house, we headed to the tearoom for hot chocolates and shortbread – much needed on this wintry day which was a stark contrast to the warm and sunny weather we had experienced the week before. We also had a look around the gift shop and I was tempted to buy some mead, cider and jam but thought I would save that to buy at one of the  National Trust properties in Cornwall, such as Lanhydrock.

For reasons mentioned previously, we didn’t fancy the walk back up the hill so we took the bus back, just in time to see the sun start to go down behind the trees.

dyrham1

I had been to Dyrham Park once before a few years ago and went on a much longer walk. The useful map shows you where the stags and doe are most likely to be grazing; the historic fallow deer have 270 acres to roam freely in. The idyllic gardens surrounding the house also have a pond, ideal for enjoying a picnic next to during summer months. I am glad I got to experience this beautiful place in all its autumn glory and managed to get quite close to a few deer during our wintry walk.

14726473_1808966776059638_5152431390360338432_n

 

Leave a Reply

