Top 6 Things To Do In Padstow

Way back in April, before I started writing this particular blog, Rémi and I took a trip to Padstow to meet two of my friends, Kylie and Craig. I hadn’t visited Padstow for several years but had briefly spent quite a bit of time there; mum lived in a small village called St Tudy near Wadebridge for a few years, so Padstow became one of our regular day trips when I visited during uni holidays. Going back even further, we had gone camping there as a family when my parents were still together..about 20 years ago now!

I was excited to show Rémi around and to see my friends who I don’t see too often anymore (they live in Bristol). We had a fun day out in the Spring sunshine and I have lovely memories of it, to add to my previous memories of the vibrant fishing port and town. Hence why I’ve decided to share with you my top 6 things to do in Padstow.

padstow4

  1. Enjoy a stroll around the harbour and down to the bay

We were lucky with the weather when we were there in April; although it was a bit chilly, there was plenty of sunshine which at that time of year brought a glimpse of the summer months to come. Padstow has plenty of scenic views. For the energetic, a brisk walk down to the beach is essential; the sand is soft and golden and there are glorious views across the Camel Estuary. If you’re feeling lazy, a stroll around the harbourside is just as pretty, perhaps armed with some takeaway chips (from Rick Stein’s or one of the other local chippies) or an ice cream. Just watch out for the inquisitive seagulls!

padstow5

2. Buy a pasty from The Chough Bakery

Talking of food, a visit to the Chough Bakery is a must. This has to be one of the best pasty shops in Cornwall, guaranteed to satisfy your hunger after a walk down to the beach. Traditional steak is my favourite but they have an assortment of other tempting flavours to choose from such as steak & blue cheese, chicken, bacon, leek & cheese and lamb & mint. Of course, they don’t only stock pasties, you can also buy artisan breads, homemade cakes and cream teas. Delicious.

chough

3. Explore the gift shops, galleries and surf shops

A visit to Padstow is not complete without a mooch around some of the shops, so make sure you bring some spending money! Wander around the streets and you’ll find some of the best Cornish produce, souvenirs and clothes – something for everyone. My personal favourites include Whistlefish Gallery (for greeting cards and artwork), Seasalt Clothing (for colourful coats and nautical t shirts) and The Fudge Shop (for Cornish fudge and other delicious treats).

fudgeshop

4. Relax in the Shipwrights Inn beer garden with a pint of cider or ale

When we arrived in Padstow in April, this is the first place we went to. My friends were already there, basking in the sun and devouring some Cornish beverages. The Shipwrights Inn has seating outside the front of the pub, with views across the harbour, but this time we sat on a table in their beer garden, tucked behind the pub. Whilst we chatted and caught up on the past few months, I nursed a refreshing pint of Cornish Rattler – the king of all cyders! A lovely place to chill out with friends, The Shipwrights should be compulsory when spending a lazy afternoon in Padstow.

shipwrights

5.Play a round of crazy golf

I was adamant that we would all tackle the crazy golf course that day, having so many fond memories of it from my childhood and teenage years. Greens has a café, pitch and putt course and the crazy golf course that I had been raving about to Rémi for much of our car journey. The mini golf course lasts at least an hour with 18 imaginative chances to get a hole in one including a water wheel and a castle and drawbridge. It’s heaps of fun and I must admit that I do get a bit competitive! Unfortunately, the course could do with some maintenance and had worn away quite a lot since last time I visited. But still a fab way to spend an afternoon.

6. Indulge in an evening meal at Rojano’s

I briefly worked at the Rojano’s restaurant in Wadebridge during one of my uni holidays….turns out I am a rubbish waitress! I could not get to grips with carrying four pizzas on my tiny arms! I also ate some delicious food in both the Wadebridge and the Padstow restaurants. When visiting Padstow in April, my friends had tried to book a table there but it was fully booked – so if you’re planning to go, book in advance. Offering  rustic Italian and Mediterranean influenced dishes, Rojanos in the square, Padstow is my top choice for a a meal with loved ones.

rojanos

If you’re planning a trip to Cornwall, this charming working harbour town could be a great choice. Situated on the north coast, Padstow is close to surfing beach, Polzeath, plus many other coves and bays. You can cycle the Camel Trail from Bodmin to Padstow or cycle a shorter route from Wadebridge to Padstow which makes a great day out. Previously a railway line, this gorgeous route takes you past spectacular woodland and scenic countryside. Tempted yet? Why not check out accommodation options online.

Leave a Reply

