Cyder & Mackerel In Kingsand

The amazing weather lasted until the weekend, yippee!

Mum and I decided to go out for lunch and chose Kingsand, basically because it’s one of our local seaside spots and we haven’t been down there for a while.

We parked at Cawsand (because there’s not a lot of parking at Kingsand) and took a leisurely stroll down the narrow, cobbled streets, past cute cottages with idyllic names like Ocean Waves and Seacroft.

With beautiful views over Cawsand beach along the way, we could see locals and tourists alike enjoying the weather on sailing boats, canoes and paddle boards.

We headed to the Devonport Inn, a small pub overlooking Kingsand beach. We debated about whether or not to sit outside as it was sooo ridiculously hot and there weren’t any shades up; but we decided we would sweat it out and make the most of the weather!

We both ordered mackerel with salad and I treated myself to a half of Cornish Orchards cyder (yes, spelt the Cornish way) whilst mum opted for a lime and soda. Food always tastes better in the sun so the fish was thoroughly enjoyed (despite the unusually large amount of bones!)

There were groups of holiday makers buzzing around: children eating ice creams; dogs sheltering under the tables from the heat; couples sipping on pints of ale or bottles of lager and families chattering and laughing. Busy enough to create an energetic atmosphere, but not too busy to make me feel infuriated with the influx of tourists (that will probably happen at some point in August).

When we finished our food, we went onto the beach for a couple of hours. The sea looked divine and there wasn’t a cloud in the sky. The ONLY thing I don’t like about this beach is the stones and shingles; I grew up going to beaches further west where the sand is soft and golden, so it doesn’t feel right to be walking on grey sand with stones cutting into my feet!

Once I got past my beach snobbery and ‘this isn’t proper Cornwall’ remarks (which, by the way, really wind my mum up), I had a lovely time just enjoying the feeling of the sun on my skin and the sound of the waves lapping on the shore.

I suffer from tinnitus, so the sound of the sea really is music to my ears – it distracts me from the other weird noises in my head.

After our sun bathing session, we bought Kelly’s ice creams to eat whilst walking back to the car park. I chose the honeycomb and caramel flavour and it was delicious. I realise I have been eating an obscene amount of ice creams lately and don’t want to think about how much money I’ve spent on them! But it is summer, so I think ice cream overdoses are allowed.

All in all, a great afternoon. Although I sill moan a little bit about the beaches near here not being the same as where I grew up, it is nice to explore a different area. Plus, I’m close to the sea so I can’t really complain!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

